What to talk about Taipei?

Some random notes from my recent trip to Taipei, Taiwan – one of the most beautiful cities I’ve ever been to.

Kindness

This would be the very 1st word come to my mind when I think about this city. Most of local people don’t know a single English word but they’ve never refused to give us a hand whenever we asked them.  I still remember the very 1st night in Taipei, we took a bus to MRT station but we were not sure where to get off. The problem was we don’t know Mandarin and the driver can’t speak English. But when he knew us Vietnamese, he called his wife, who is also Vietnamese, and let her become our “interpreter”. This also was our very 1st impression about Taiwanese kindness. Or the story about a security guy who was on his duty but still willingly said “Yes” when we asked him for directions. Any random person we met on the street made us feel so warm and welcomed. All of them made this trip become even more memorable and also be a reason for me to comeback.

Beautiful

3 days in Taipei is as short as a blink and I just tasted a little bit of its beauty. So it’s impossible for me to describe the whole beauty of this country. But I do feel that Taiwan is a mix between China and Japan, but for sure, you will never be confused since Taiwan has its own unique! What I can describe Taiwan is it has a diverse and majestic landscape just like China but covered by the tenderness, purity, clarity, and simplicity just like what I feel about Japan. Besides, you can see many contrast while being here, just like the ancient pagodas, temples and museums next to fancy shopping malls, or those timeworn apartments next to modern skyscrapers…

 

 

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Convenient 

With a modern public transportation system, Taipei is one of the best cities for backpackers. Its affordable fares, clean and safe environment (I feel so), courtesy and lovely bus drivers, numerous and well-planned routes helped us travel around the city so easily even we’re all 1st time being here and don’t know a single word of Mandarin. If you’re a budget traveller or not, MRT, bus and taxi here are all worth a try.

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Lively nightlife

The must-do thing in Taipei is visiting its night markets. I cannot count how many ones here but any of them is worth trying. I just had chance to be at Shilin, Raohe and Ximen and just spent almost 1 hour for each. I know it’s too little and all I did is just running across the shops. Many interesting things had been missed and lots of street food had been left behind but to think on the bright side, I have one more reason to comeback.

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
Ximen Walker at night
Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
Shilin Market

—-

Travel on a tour for such a city like Taipei is so waste of time and bring me so much regrets as there are lots of things to do, to enjoy, to discover as I’ve spent most of the time on coach and local shops. So Taipei, please wait for my next visit, I’ll comeback very soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

